DRC Ebola Deaths Pass 4,000 as Health Workers Protest Delayed Pay AI · Claude · 3 Oct
Latest Events
DRC Ebola Death Toll Passes 4,000 as Health Workers Protest Delayed Pay Tier 2 Ebola Transit Centre Burns Down at Kigonze Camp in Ituri Tier 1 Security Council Meets on DRC as Peace Deals Fail to Halt Fighting Tier 1 Vessel Capsizes in DRC Killing at Least 12, Dozens Missing Tier 1 Plane Carrying DR Congo Military Delegation Crashes Tier 1Latest Events
Military Operations
Military Operations
Jan 27–Aug 7- Capture of GomaM23, with Rwandan special-forces support per UN experts, seized Goma on Jan 27, 2025 after cutting the city's two access roads — the war's single deadliest event, with UN estimates near 3,000 dead.
- Capture of BukavuM23 took the South Kivu capital on Feb 16, 2025 with almost no FARDC resistance, extending rebel control over both Kivu provincial capitals.
- Capture of WalikaleM23's furthest westward advance of the campaign, taken Mar 19-20, 2025 after seizing Kashebere and Kibati.
- Seizure of Kalehe Mineral TownsM23 took the cassiterite trading towns of Nyabibwe, Numbi and Lumbishi in Kalehe territory, South Kivu, expanding control over tin-ore supply chains.
- Capture of UviraAFC/M23's biggest advance since February 2025 — the Lake Tanganyika port fell Dec 10, 2025 after fighting for Sange, Luberizi, Luvungi and Kamanyola, in direct breach of the Doha ceasefire.
- Rubaya Coltan Taxation RegimeSince seizing Rubaya in April 2024, M23 has taxed roughly 120 tonnes/month of coltan trade at ~15% of value, earning at least $800,000/month — the conflict's core financing mechanism.
- M23 Counteroffensive in MasisiAfter FARDC-Wazalendo forces retook villages around Katoyi in Feb 2026, M23 pushed back near Kashovu and Lumbishi and recaptured lost ground within days, collapsing the Angolan ceasefire proposal.
- M23 Expels Verification Mechanism MemberM23 expelled a Congolese government representative from the joint ceasefire verification mechanism even as a prisoner exchange proceeded, undercutting the Washington/Doha monitoring architecture.
Casualties
Humanitarian Impact
| Category | Killed | Injured | Source | Tier | Status | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Goma battle (Jan-Feb 2025) | ~787-2,900 | ~2,958 | WHO / UN officials | Official | Heavily Contested | Early WHO tally of 787 dead rose to a UN estimate of nearly 3,000 as bodies were recovered from streets and morgues through February 2025. |
| Eastern DRC, since Jan 1, 2025 | 7,000+ | not separately reported | PM Judith Suminwa, DRC government | Official | Evolving | Government tally given to parliament Feb 24, 2025; roughly 3,000 of the deaths were attributed to Goma alone. |
| SAMIDRC / MONUSCO peacekeepers, Goma battle | ~20 SAMIDRC (13-17 South African) + 3 MONUSCO (2 South African, 1 Uruguayan) | not fully reported | SANDF / UN | Official | Verified | Losses that led directly to the Mar 13, 2025 SADC decision to terminate the SAMIDRC mandate. |
| Munzenze prison break, Goma | 100+ (reported) | unknown | Contemporary press reporting | Institutional | Heavily Contested | Reports that over 100 female inmates were raped and burned alive amid chaos as M23 fighters entered Goma on Jan 27, 2025; casualty figures for this specific incident remain difficult to independently verify. |
| Komanda church massacre | 38-43 | dozens | Al Jazeera / Human Rights Watch | Major | Partial | ADF/ISCAP attack on a night vigil at Saint Anuarite Catholic church, Jul 27, 2025; toll estimates ranged 38-50 across early reports. |
| Rubaya mine landslide | 227 confirmed, 400+ reported | unknown, many unrecovered | Al Jazeera / local officials | Major | Heavily Contested | Two landslides on Jan 28-29, 2026 buried artisanal miners; the toll rose from an initial 227 confirmed dead past 400 within days, with recovery hampered by mud. |
| Internally displaced persons, nationwide | n/a | n/a | UNHCR / OCHA | Official | Verified | IDPs stood near 5 million in early 2025 before falling to roughly 5.8 million-adjusted estimates in 2026 as ~1.9 million returnees were recorded, mostly in North Kivu, South Kivu and Ituri. |
| Total displaced (IDPs + refugees), 2025 peak | n/a | n/a | UNHCR | Official | Verified | Conflict displaced 9.7 million people within the DRC in 2025, the country's highest figure on record and nearly a third of the global total that year. |
| Population in humanitarian need, 2026 | n/a | n/a | OCHA | Official | Verified | OCHA projected 14.9 million people would need humanitarian assistance in 2026, with food insecurity affecting 28 million nationwide. |
| Masisi offensive and counteroffensive, Feb-Mar 2026 | not comprehensively reported | not comprehensively reported | Critical Threats Project | Institutional | Contested | Multiple days of village-by-village fighting between FARDC-Wazalendo and M23 forces; casualty figures were not consolidated by any single tracked source. |
| Civilians killed since December 2025 (post-framework) | 1,500+ | hundreds of thousands displaced | Independent analyst estimate cited in regional press | Institutional | Contested | Cited as evidence that the Doha framework and Washington Accords lack enforcement mechanisms, despite successive ceasefire pledges. |
| Boga and Tchabi massacres (historical baseline) | 57+ | 47+ | Contemporary press reporting | Major | Partial | May 30-31, 2021 ISCAP attack pre-dating this tracker's window, included as baseline context for the ADF/ISCAP campaign against civilians in Ituri. |
| Fizi Mwalu Hotel drone strike (Aug 19, 2026) | 0 | 2 (incl. hotel manager) | Radio Okapi / FARDC Sukola 2 sector | Major | Contested | FARDC attributes the strike to Rwandan-piloted drones targeting a civilian hotel; Rwanda and M23 have not confirmed responsibility, and the account has not been independently verified. |
| ADF killings, Bapere sector (Lubero, North Kivu), mid-2024 to Aug 2026 | 2,400+ | not separately reported | Local civil society (Samuel Kaheni) via Radio Okapi | Institutional | Partial | Two-year cumulative tally presented by Bapere sector civil society on Aug 18, 2026; not an independently verified UN or government count, though consistent with sustained ADF/ISCAP activity around the Manguredjipa axis. |
| Ebola/Bundibugyo virus disease outbreak, since May 15, 2026 | 3,779 confirmed (7,820 cases) | 839 in isolation/hospitalized | Africa CDC / DRC INSP | Official | Evolving | Deaths passed 3,000 for the first time on Sept 2, 2026 (3,007 deaths/6,186 cases per DRC's INSP); by Sept 25 Africa CDC data the confirmed toll had risen to 3,779 deaths among 7,820 cases (~48% case-fatality rate), spread across 63 health zones in seven provinces (49 active). The epidemic's geography is shifting: over the latest three-week period Ituri (the original epicenter) saw cases fall 25% and deaths drop 31%, while North Kivu's caseload rose 56% and deaths climbed 19%, giving North Kivu the highest case-fatality ratio nationally (~60.5%). About 65% of cases are still first identified within communities rather than through surveillance, and a Sept 24 dispute over an Ebola victim's burial in Beni's Rwangoma cemetery — where police fired on a crowd trying to open the coffin — left 2 dead, underscoring ongoing friction with safe-burial protocols. A 20,000-person Ervebo vaccine clinical trial testing efficacy against the Bundibugyo strain began in Bunia, Ituri on Sept 19, 2026. This remains DRC's largest and deadliest Ebola outbreak on record and the second-largest globally. Congolese experts say the true toll could be several times higher than confirmed figures. |
| Police shooting at Rwangoma cemetery, Beni (Ebola burial dispute), Sept 24 2026 | 2 | several (unspecified) | Radio Okapi | Major | Verified | Police opened fire to disperse a crowd attempting to open an Ebola victim's coffin before burial in violation of safe-burial protocols; a young girl died at the scene and a second victim died of gunshot wounds at a health facility. Local authorities called the coffin-opening attempt a "flagrant violation" of Ebola response measures. |
| ADF attack, Amani & Mabakuha (Mambasa, Ituri), Aug 28-29 2026 | ~21 (provisional) | unknown, multiple missing | APDEF Mambasa / NSCC via Reporter.cd, Congo-Press | Institutional | Evolving | Two ADF attacks struck Mabakuha (10 dead) and Amani (7-11 dead) villages in Mambasa territory's Babila Teturi grouping overnight Aug 28-29; a hospital, a church and roughly 20 houses were burned. Toll is provisional pending further verification; no FARDC or MONUSCO confirmation had been issued at time of reporting. |
| ADF attacks, 15 villages in Mambasa/Irumu (Ituri), Aug 27-Sept 1 2026 | 43 (provisional) | unknown, multiple missing | APDEF Mambasa via CongoQuotidien, AllAfrica | Major | Evolving | Six-day APDEF Mambasa tally across 15 localities in Mambasa and Irumu territories, folding in the Aug 28-29 Amani/Mabakuha attacks already logged separately in this tracker; 53 houses burned, bodies reportedly left unrecovered, no FARDC or government statement issued as of Sept 2. |
| FARDC/FDNB/Wazalendo offensive, Uvira and Fizi highlands, Sept 1 2026 | 23 rebels (FARDC claim) | 11 surrendered | FARDC Sukola 2 South-South Kivu, via CongoQuotidien, Reporter.cd | Institutional | Contested | FARDC-reported combat toll from the retaking of Malimba, Masango, Ruhua, Rubarati (Uvira) and Kamimbi, Nagishashu, Irumba (Fizi) from RDF/M23-Twirwaneho/Red Tabara; a mass grave of alleged civilian victims was found at Masango, not independently verified. |
| AFC/M23 vs FARDC-Wazalendo clash, Chinono (Kalehe), Sept 3 2026 | not yet established | not yet established | Local civil society via Reporter.cd | Institutional | Contested | Renewed heavy-arms fighting at the Ziralo/Mubuku grouping border near Chinono in Kalehe's Buhavu chiefdom triggered civilian flight; neither FARDC nor M23 had issued a casualty statement as of the report. |
| Cimpunda school fire, M23-held Bukavu (Sept 10, 2026) | 26 confirmed (UNICEF), provisional toll up to 29 | 25+ | UNICEF / Radio Okapi / South Kivu provincial government | Major | Evolving | A fire spreading from a residential house into Furaha and Ujamaa primary schools on Avenue Kasheke triggered a fatal student stampede; UNICEF confirmed 26 children dead (19 girls, 7 boys) and 25 injured, while the provincial government's provisional count reached 29. About 50 homes were also destroyed. |
| Unexploded ordnance blast, Gikoro (Rutshuru), Sept 12 2026 | 7 | 10+ | CongoQuotidien, via local sources | Institutional | Verified | An abandoned explosive device detonated near farmers working fields in Rutshuru's Jomba grouping; local sources linked it to ordnance left over from past FARDC-AFC/M23 fighting in the area. |
| AFC/M23 combatants, FARDC communiqué (Walikale, Masisi, Rutshuru), Sept 15-17 2026 | 14 (FARDC claim) | 13 wounded, 3 captured | FARDC spokesperson Maj. Dieudonné Kasereka, via RadioMoto | Institutional | Contested | FARDC-reported combat toll from Sept 15-17 fighting across Walikale, Masisi and Rutshuru territories, alongside the recapture of Miko and Remeka hills and Kasheke village center; 3 Wazalendo (VDP) fighters were also reported killed and 8 weapons seized. AFC/M23 did not confirm the toll. |
| Bunia Kigonze IDP site, FARDC lockdown (Sept 20-21, 2026) | 1-2 (unconfirmed) | multiple, unable to access care | Radio Okapi, witness accounts | Major | Heavily Contested | A FARDC lockdown at the Kigonze displaced persons site in Bunia's Mudzi-Mpela neighborhood produced witness reports of at least one death (a man in his 40s) and several wounded over two days of gunfire and arrests; no police or military statement confirmed a toll, and the operation's justification (a presumed weapons cache at the site) was likewise unconfirmed. |
Economic Impact
Economic & Market Impact
Contested Claims
Contested Claims Matrix
29 claims · click to expandContested Are Rwandan troops fighting alongside M23 in eastern DRC?
Contested How many people died in the January 2025 battle for Goma?
Contested Is M23 a Rwandan proxy force or an indigenous Congolese rebellion?
Contested Does the FDLR still pose a serious security threat to Rwanda?
Contested Who broke the Angolan-proposed February 2026 ceasefire?
Contested Is Rwanda systematically smuggling Congolese coltan into its export chain?
Contested Is Félix Tshisekedi's presidency legitimate?
Contested Is the US-brokered peace process primarily about minerals access or genuine conflict resolution?
Contested Does the ICJ have jurisdiction to hear DRC's case against Rwanda?
Contested How many Rwandan troops are/were deployed in eastern DRC?
Contested Should demobilized FDLR fighters be forcibly repatriated to Rwanda?
Contested Are Wazalendo fighters legitimate self-defense militias or undisciplined armed actors?
Contested What caused the January 2026 Rubaya mine landslide?
Contested Does the November 2025 Doha Framework represent real progress toward peace?
Contested Were the January 2025 Kinshasa protests and embassy attacks a legitimate expression of public anger?
Contested Did the SAMIDRC mission fail in its defense of Goma?
Contested Did the DRC's 2025 cobalt export ban help or harm the country's economy?
Contested Does the US-DRC minerals partnership fairly benefit Congolese interests?
Contested Can Rubaya be legitimately 'formalized' for US investment while M23 controls it militarily?
Contested Are ADF/ISCAP attacks primarily ideological (Islamic State-aligned) or a reaction to military pressure?
Contested Who is responsible for the August 2026 drone strikes on civilian sites in Fizi and Minembwe?
Contested Does Tshisekedi's constitutional reform push amount to a bid for a third term?
Contested Can Tshisekedi's national dialogue meaningfully address the conflict while excluding AFC/M23?
Contested Who is responsible for the mass grave FARDC says it found at Masango in the Uvira highlands?
Contested Is the Doha peace process still viable, or is Kinshasa using it to stall?
Contested Were the 81 people MONUSCO repatriated to Rwanda as 'ex-FDLR fighters' actually Rwandan combatants?
Contested Was Denise Dusauchoy's extradition from Tanzania to the DRC lawful?
Unverifiable Who is responsible for the burned villages and displacement reported on the Walikale-Masisi axis on Sept 20, 2026?
Unverifiable Was the FARDC lockdown at Bunia's Kigonze IDP site justified, and how many people died?
Political Landscape
Political & Diplomatic
Timeline
Historical Timeline
2025 – PresentCENTCOM, IDF, White House, IAEA, UN, IRNA, Xinhua official statements
Reuters, AP, CNN, BBC, Al Jazeera, Xinhua, CGTN, Bloomberg, WaPo, NYT
Oxford Economics, CSIS, HRW, HRANA, Hengaw, NetBlocks, ICG, Amnesty
Social media, unattributed military claims, unattributed video, diaspora accounts
White House, CENTCOM, IDF, State Dept, Reuters, AP, BBC, CNN, NYT, WaPo
Al Jazeera, IRNA, Press TV, Tehran Times, Al Arabiya, Al Mayadeen, Fars News
Xinhua, CGTN, Global Times, TASS, Kyodo News, Yonhap
UN, IAEA, ICRC, HRW, Amnesty, WHO, OPCW, CSIS, ICG